British photographic history

Information and discussion on all aspects of British photographic history

Who's afraid of art and photography?

Event Details

Who's afraid of art and photography?

Time: June 9, 2022 from 5pm to 6pm
Location: Online
Website or Map: https://www.photographynetwor…
Event Type: online, talk
Organized By: Photography Network
Latest Activity: May 23, 2022

Export to Outlook or iCal (.ics)

Event Description

Recent scholarly discourse on photographies has treated the subject of art and photography as a relic of the past. Has the aesthetic been delegitimized as a vital area of scholarly research? In this presentation Juliet Hacking and Joanne Lukitsh, editors of a recent anthology of essays on art and photography in the 19th century, make the case for revisiting the material and metaphorical interplay between photography and the arts, with “arts” encompassing a range of media from the visual culture of the time. 

Photography Network membership is required to attend. To become a member, sign up here: https://www.photographynetwork.net/memberregistration. Register here for the event on Thursday, June 9, 9 AM PDT / 12 Noon EDT / 5 PM BST. The event will be recorded and made available for a limited time. Please email photography.network.board@gmail.com to obtain a password-protected link to the recording.  

Comment Wall

Add a Comment

RSVP for Who's afraid of art and photography? to add comments!

Join British photographic history

Attending (1)

© 2023   Created by Michael Pritchard.   Powered by

Badges  |  Report an Issue  |  Terms of Service