Hello! 

My name is Kyra and I came across an August 6, 1892 Liverpool Mercury article the other day while at the Library of Congress in Washington DC.

I'm am writing about Martha Ann Ricks, a former US slave who emigrated to Liberia. In 1892, she had an audience with Queen Victoria and presented the queen with a quilt.I have been researching this visit for 5+ years. 

The Liverpool Mercury article revealed new facts to me. I knew Mrs Ricks was honored at a reception hosted by Sir Alfred Lewis Jones, who owned the shipping line between the UK and West Africa. Based on other articles a couple hundred folks were at this reception at Sir Alfred's home in Liverpool.  Here's the new bit of information from the article:

"... Messrs. Barraund (Bold-street) and Mr. J. W. Walmsley (Queen's road) took several photographs of Mrs. Ricks alone and engrouped with other guests. Collinson's band was in attendance, imparting a festive character to the occasion. Among those present - all of whom were accompanied by ladies - were Messrs. T. Stanley Rogerson, T. Harrison, W. J. Davey, Alexander Sinclair, F. Holden, Ellis Edwards, W. Dodd, T. E. Tomlinson, T. H. Barker, R. Bulman, J. Pinnock, O.H. Williams, V. Hammond, C. Dore, F. Dore, Zochonis, Fairley (Manchester), R. Baker, Cooper, Hughes, Allen Edwards, and F. Radcliffe, and Captain Davies (the commandore captain of the African steamships). Aunt Martha leaves Liverpool for West Africa to day (Saturday) in the steamer Dahmoney."

I could sure use your assistance on ideas or leads!  I'd LOVE to see any of these photos if still around, thought it's likely a long shot!

• Where might I find any photos of people of color by Barraund or Walmsley?
  • Is there a collection or library with their collection of photos?
  • Is there anyone with special interest in Liverpool 19th century photography, photographers I can speak with?

Thank you very much for any insights or leads you might provide!