British photographic history

Information and discussion on all aspects of British photographic history

Kraszna-Krausz Book Awards and First Book Award

Sir Harold Evans, former Sunday Times editor and prolific writer on photojournalism is to receive the Kraszna-Krausz Foundation’s Outstanding Contribution to Publishing Award at a ceremony on 18 May 2015, while South African photographer David Goldblatt will be awarded the first ever Kraszna-Krausz Fellowship in recognition of his extraordinary work in books throughout a distinguished career.

The Kraszna-Krausz Book Awards are the UK’s leading prizes for photography and moving image books. Judged by a panel of prominent experts, they celebrate the books which have made original and lasting educational, professional, historical and cultural contributions to the field. The longlisted and shortlisted publications for The Kraszna-Krausz Photography Book Award and The Kraszna-Krausz Moving Image Book Award will be revealed at the opening of the awards display in Media Space’s Virgin Media Studio on 20 April 2015. The winners will be announced at a ceremony on 18 May 2015, with a £10,000 prize split between the two categories.

On Sir Harold Evans’ naming as recipient of the Outstanding Contribution to Publishing Award, Michael G. Wilson, Chairman, Kraszna-Krausz Foundation said ‘With a distinguished career spanning many decades and both sides of the Atlantic, Sir Harold Evans represents the very highest standards of professional journalism. He has been both a writer and editor for many of the great periodicals of our time as well as author of books about the recent history of America. It is our great pleasure to award him the Kraszna-Krausz Outstanding Contribution to Publishing prize.’

On the awarding of the Kraszna-Krausz Fellowship to David Goldblatt, Wilson said: ‘David Goldblatt is the 2015 inaugural Kraszna-Krausz Fellow in recognition of his incredible achievement as a photographer working in the medium of the photography book. Throughout his career, Goldblatt's projects have exemplified the highest standards of intellectual rigour and creative production. His photography books have inspired multiple generations of photographers and are among the most influential of the 20th and 21st centuries.’

The First Book Award is the world’s leading book prize for emerging photographers. The Award was established in 2012 by MACK and the National Media Museum and is open to photographers who have not previously had a book published by a third party publishing house. Media Space will present a display of the winning project, together with an overview of the winners from the first three years of the Award and this year’s shortlisted projects. The winning project will be published by MACK on 20 April at the opening of the display accompanying the awards.

The photographers (and works) shortlisted for the First Book Award 2015 are announced as: Ciarán Óg Arnold (I went to the worst of bars, hoping to get killed but all I could do was get drunk again), Fine Bieler (Traumkaßte Bilder mit Anspruch auf Wahrheit), Marguerite Bornhauser (Plastic Colors), Ivars Gravlejs (Early Works), Tine Guns (The Diver), Kevin Lear (A Glass Darkly), Vittorio Mortarotti (The First Day of Good Weather), Musa Nxumalo (I, II, III, IV, In search of …), Charlotte Tanguy (In a Sense), Ofer Wolberger (billie).

Lucy Kumara Moore, Director, Claire de Rouen Books and First Book Award judge, said: ‘For me, the pleasure of judging this prize was in knowing that I could focus on the quality of the work contained within the submitted book dummies, rather than the material and conceptual ways in which the dummies had themselves been assembled. Michael Mack's understanding of photo book publishing is exceptional, and this is the strength of the First Book Award - it allows a talented practitioner to begin to refine the way in which their work is presented to the world. Importantly, this year the prize also involves an exhibition at Media Space for the winner, thereby foregrounding further the sensitivities of different formats of presentation - the book, the exhibition, etc - and how these might complement each other.’

The display accompanying The Kraszna-Krausz Book Awards and the First Book Award 2015 will run from 20 April to 28 June 2015 in the Virgin Media Studio, Media Space, Science Museum, London. Visitors will have a unique opportunity to look through copies of the newly and soon-to-be-published books by each of the shortlisted entrants and award winners, alongside a selection of striking images from the previous First Book Award winners.

Details can be found at<>.

Image: Children on the border between Fietas and Mayfair, Johannesburg, c.1949 © David Goldblatt, courtesy The Goodman Gallery

Views: 203

Add a Comment

You need to be a member of British photographic history to add comments!

Join British photographic history

© 2019   Created by Michael Pritchard.   Powered by

Badges  |  Report an Issue  |  Terms of Service