British photographic history

Information and discussion on all aspects of British photographic history

Kraszna-Krausz 2011 Book Awards short lists

Founded in 1985 by the Hungarian publisher Andor Kraszna-Krausz, the Kraszna-Krausz Book Awards showcase excellence among books on the still and moving image. The foundation awards two prizes of £5,000 per year to books offering the most significant contribution to photographic and/or moving image scholarship, history, criticism, science and conservation. The Kraszna-Krausz Book Awards will be announced during the Sony World Photography Awards in London, 27 April 2011.

This year's Best Photography Book Award shortlist includes  Camille Silvy: Photographer of Modern Life 1834–1910 (£25), the catalogue for last year’s exhibition at the National Portrait Gallery by Mark Haworth-Booth, and for the Moving Image category, Philip Brookman’s catalogue for the Tate show, Eadweard Muybridge.

The full list and details of the judges can be found here.


Best Photography Book Award Shortlist

•TJ: Johannesburg Photographs 1948-2010 / Double Negative: A Novel, David Goldblatt and Ivan Vladislaviċ (Contrasto)
•The Thirty Two Inch Ruler / Map of Babylon, John Gossage (Steidl)
•Camille Silvy: Photographer of Modern Life 1834 – 1910, Mark Haworth-Booth (The National Portrait Gallery)
Best Moving Image Book Award Shortlist

•Von Sternberg, John Baxter (The University Press of Kentucky)
•Eadweard Muybridge, Philip Brookman (Corcoran Gallery of Art, Tate Publishing, Steidl)
•Illuminations: Memorable Movie Moments, Richard D. Pepperman (Michael Wiese Productions)
•Disappearing Tricks: Silent Film, Houdini, and the New Magic of the 20th Century, Matthew Solomon (University of Illinois Press)

Views: 159

Add a Comment

You need to be a member of British photographic history to add comments!

Join British photographic history

© 2021   Created by Michael Pritchard.   Powered by

Badges  |  Report an Issue  |  Terms of Service