British photographic history

Information and discussion on all aspects of British photographic history

Kraszna-Krausz Book Awards 2019 - invitation to submit

The Kraszna-Krausz Book Awards recognise individuals or groups of individuals who have made an outstanding original or lasting contribution to the literature of or concerning the art and practice of photography or the moving image. Two winning titles published between 1 January and 31 December 2018 will be selected; one in the field of photography and one in the field of the moving image (including film, television and digital media).

The judging panel consists of three internationally recognised experts in their specialist fields. Judges for the 2019 Kraszna-Krausz Awards will be announced in January. Previous judges have been drawn from the worlds of fine art, photography, film, galleries, museums, academia and publishing.

  • The deadline for submission of the application form is 15 January 2019.

  • The deadline for submissions of book copies is 31 January 2019.

Full details of how to submit and terms & conditions can be found on the Kraszna-Krausz website

The Prize

From the total submissions, a long list of ten books will be selected in both categories by the judges. This will then be reduced to shortlists of three, from which two final winning publications will be chosen. Each winning book will receive a £5,000 cash prize.

Kraszna-Krausz Foundation Chairman Sir Brian Pomeroy is delighted to announce that the winners will be awarded their prize during Photo London week at a ceremony in London. The winning authors, photographers or editors will be invited to attend. Longlisted titles will be promoted and displayed on the Kraszna-Krausz Foundation stand at Photo London, Somerset House, 16-19 May 2019. 

The Foundation

The Kraszna-Krausz Foundation was created by Andor Kraszna-Krausz, the founder of Focal Press.
Since 1985 the Kraszna-Krausz Foundation Book Awards have been the UK’s leading prizes for books on photography and the moving image. Winning books have been those which make original and lasting educational, professional, historical and cultural contributions to the field.

For further information visit the Kraszna-Krausz Foundation website:

Views: 162

Add a Comment

You need to be a member of British photographic history to add comments!

Join British photographic history

© 2020   Created by Michael Pritchard.   Powered by

Badges  |  Report an Issue  |  Terms of Service